• Foot Conditions

  • Ankle and Achilles Conditions

  • Sports Injuries

  • Keyhole Surgery

HomePatient InfoConditions and ProceduresFoot ConditionsMinimally Invasive (Key Hole) Surgery for Bunions (Hallux Valgus)Bunion Surgery - Minimally Invasive Technique Testimonials

Bunion Surgery - Minimally Invasive Technique Testimonials

I will start at the end of my journey, rather than the beginning, as I am so happy with the result of my foot operations by Mr. Gordon, and cannot wait to share with others the delight of looking at two perfectly straight feet. This is life-changing for me: after suffering bunions for as long as I can remember, I am now wearing flip-flops for the first time ever and feel a very young 67 years!! Trips to the shoe shop will be a joy rather than an embarrassing ordeal. Mr. Gordon has done a truly amazing job and I cannot thank him enough.

I started to think about surgical treatment a couple of years ago when I noticed my bunions gradually getting worse; as I developed quite a severe deformity in both feet, wearing shoes became more painful and the search for summer sandals, that did not rub or show an ugly lump, very restricted. Researching treatment options, I read a few articles on minimally invasive surgery that led me to Mr. Gordon. HURRAH! He turned out to be exactly what I had hoped for.

Right from the start, he explained everything in detail; no question was too much trouble; he built up your confidence, and made you feel at ease. So, after my initial consultation, I went away armed with all the facts and no pressure from anybody to go ahead. I opted for a foot block rather than a general anaesthetic, remaining awake during the procedure very happily listening to my music without worries about what was happening to my foot; this was due to the confidence I had in Mr. Gordon rather than myself. I was admitted to Spire Harpenden Hospital as a day-case on both occasions, returning home late afternoon, fully weight-bearing in special sandals supplied by the hospital. Mr. Gordon gave me clear postoperative instructions, which I followed religiously; this is not a quick-fix operation and requires some effort from the patient to stick to the physiotherapy instructions in order to regain good mobility! It pays off in the long run.

It is now four months since the operation on my second foot, and scarring is only barely visible in either. Pedicures are a delight!! I certainly would not hesitate to recommend Mr. Gordon. A huge thank you also goes to his PA, Helen Sellars, who efficiently rescheduled my second operation soon after I had to cancel the original date due to other health issues.

Mrs P F, Harpenden, Hertfordshire, August 2017


I was so pleased to discover Mr Gordon's web site as I had been looking for key hole surgery for bunions for a couple of years and I liked the web site and all the information it gave me.

When I rang Helen, Mr Gordon's P.A . To arrange an appointment I found her to be friendly, approachable and informative. I discussed my situation that I had a severe bunion which had gone under my second toe and was pushing the rest of my toes together causing discomfort in all my shoes. It was so difficult to get shoes to fit. Also my foot looked ugly.

Although I had to travel approximately one and a half hours each way to Harpenden, it was so worthwhile. I liked Mr Gordon immediately and felt safe and confident regarding the operation. It was explained to me in full. The surgery went well and I was pleased to have only an ankle block and sedative. The follow up care is thorough and x rays taken to check the bones, two of which had had to be broken to put my foot back to normal. There were no stitches involved.

I have virtually no sign of where the incisions were made and after the operation I experienced no pain apart from one and a half hours on the second night. That was it! For me, anyway, no pain relief needed. I can now get into all of my shoes and my foot looks and feels so good.

My recovery was excellent. So much so that one of my friends was so impressed she also followed me and has had her bunions operated on by Mr Gordon.

I recommend Mr Gordon wholeheartedly.

Mrs B W, Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands, August 2017


Whilst not the worst bunion in the world mine was unsightly , red and inflamed , painful and often throbbed at night. To accommodate it I had to move up 2 sizes in shoes. As I already take size 7, that is a problem, there's not much choice in 9s . I was restricted in what I could do, dog walking for example became a painful chore.

I had understood that the traditional treatment was painful and unpleasant, and thus I had put up with the inconvenience of the bunion. Then I heard about David Gordon and his minimally invasive treatment. From the first contact with Spire Harpenden, through consultations, operation and recovery I have felt comfortable, reassured and convinced that this was right for me.

After a couple of consultations with Mr Gordon , the operation was done as day surgery and I was home in time for tea. A heavily bandaged foot in an orthopaedic sandal took some getting used to, but pain during recovery was minimal, I only needed one dose of paracetamol tablets. Not normally the best of patients I committed myself to following recovery instructions to the letter. Being retired makes that easier but some simple variations to domestic routine allowed me to follow elevation etc. instructions. Recovery was uneventful and I have full movement, no pain and only a very faint mark (fading rapidly ) marks the operation site. My foot is as straight as the other, unaffected foot.

I must thank Mr Gordon. I would say he 'wears his learning lightly'. He is relaxed, friendly and approachable, certainly not my idea of a consultant hitherto, but clearly an expert in his field. He explained in words I could understand exactly what would happen and why . From the start I knew I was in safe hands.

This is my first experience of private medicine and I am very happy with how it all went for me, thank you Mr Gordon.

Mrs H P, Hemel Hempstead, Herts, August 2017


I have had bunions for most of my adult life. For many years I managed to accommodate them in ever widening footwear to allow for an active lifestyle. I tolerated this as I thought surgery would be painful, recovery slow and the outcome could result in restricted movement. I was much too scared to take the plunge.

Eventually it became impossible to find any footwear that was pain free, this impacted greatly on daily life. I had delayed help for so many years that not only were my bunions very large but I had developed bent toes and very painful corns. I would avoid barefoot activities at all costs being embarrassed by my now very ugly feet. You would not see me getting sand between my toes.

So at sixty I nervously looked into surgery. Having chosen to discuss my problem with Mr Gordon it soon became apparent I was in capable hands. I was very anxious but Mr Gordon listened to my concerns and was honest and reassuring in his answers.

I had both feet, which included bunions, toes and corns operated on two weeks apart. Surgery, done as a day patient both times, went very well. Post op recovery was so much better than I had anticipated. I needed very little pain relief. The couple of concerns I did have were quickly addressed on the phone and things went very smoothly. Mr Gordon sets out a clear, detailed programme of exercises that I followed diligently. Life was restricted for eight weeks but after coming out of surgical sandals I made steady progress.

It is now six months since surgery. I have new walking boots and for the last three months have been regularly hill walking covering many miles. I am back doing all my favorite activities but now pain free. Also the change in their appearance is remarkable, I am now looking for opportunities to show them off. I could not be more delighted.

Mr Gordon is a superb surgeon. He is also friendly and approachable which made the whole experience so much less nerve racking. I would also like to mention his secretary Helen who was always efficient, helpful and kind.

Mr Gordon’s expertise has given me new feet, thank you.

Mrs R A, Gravesend, Kent, August 2017


Although the symptoms I had before the operation weren't severe they were enough to warrant having the procedure done. I had a permanent aching pain in both feet although the left was worse. At times I would have a severe sharp pain shoot through my foot and this would stop me mid stride and last for a few seconds. Of course there was the ugliness of both feet so I was reluctant to wear sandals and had to buy wide fit shoes.

The service I received from Mr Gordon was outstanding, I was recommended to him by a colleague and would certainly recommend him to others.

Although I had a bad reaction to the anaesthetic (was really sick on waking up) the operation went well and I can honestly say it didn't hurt as much as I expected, The 6 week recovery time was relatively painless, more aching and frustrating than pain.

Now 8 months after the operation and my feet look great. They are 95% back to normal, I just have occasional swelling which will I am told will decrease in time. No pain now just aching if I don't wear supportive shoes for any period of time. I can wear any shoes I like without feeling at all conscious.

Highly recommend and really pleased I went ahead!

Mrs L P Wellingborough, Northants, August 2017


Key hole bunions operation done January 2017 - I am 68 years old and have suffered with my feet since very young. As I got older I began to develop bunions, they become very painful, found buying shoes very difficult. I saw how my mother struggled with her bunions and I thought I will go the same way she did. Walking become very painful, my weight shot up as a result of doing less and less, even house chores became difficult. Talking to people about bunions, everyone kept saying how complicated, difficult and painful the operation is. About 10 years ago I heard about Minimal Invasive surgery which I believe was started by a French Doctor by the name of Joel Vedrois.

Following that, I read an article in the Telegraph newspaper about a lady who had a key hole procedure with Mr. Gordon stating how happy she now was and praising Mr Gordon's work. My husband and I took the decision to get in touch with him. Our first point of contact was Helen (his secretary) whom very patiently answered all our questions, putting our mind at rest right from the first day. My first appointment with Mr Gordon was done at Spire Hospital in Harpenden. Everyone at reception was very professional , all paper work done speedily without queries. Mr Gordon made me feel very comfortable explaining everything in great detail . Helen organised hospital, dates follow ups, etc.

I had my feet done at the London Clinic in January 2017. Surgery was excellent , went very well, when I woke up my foot was numb, little pain afterwards but never requiring strong pain killers. Two weeks after the first operation I had the bandages taken off. My husband was present. We just could not believe our eyes when we saw the foot. Apart from seeing some very tiny incisions, no swelling, no bruising. Big and second toe so straight, as if nothing ever happened . I had the same results with the second foot.

Post operation instructions and exercises were easy to understand and follow. Six months on I am a new woman, the word delight is too little to describe my feelings. Incredibly grateful to Mr Gordon for his amazing (Miraculous work). Seeing the final XRay still cannot understand how those screws were inserted through those tiny holes. If you are a bunions sufferer, do not wait any longer, Mr Gordon will change your life.

Mrs E M, West Byfleet Surrey, July 2017


I had suffered with the joints in my feet since childhood, always struggled with footwear and felt extremely self conscious of my feet for as long as I can remember. Over the last 10 years my feet had become increasingly painful with large unsightly bunions developing on both feet. My range of footwear was becoming very limited because of the pain in my feet. Also I was finding that many of the weight bearing activities I enjoy such as hill walking, running and intensity training were becoming too painful to endure. I also had pain in my toes and joints during mountain biking and was dealing with it by using special shoes and fat pedals.

I sought help from the NHS via my GP and was dismissed at first, told to go to Scholl to sort my feet out and then eventually, after much perseverance on my part, referred for orthotics. Orthotics gave some temporary relief for everyday activities but didn’t address my issues with footwear or sporting activities. I was advised that surgery on the NHS would result in a long recovery and a massive reduction in the mobility in my feet so best avoided unless absolutely necessary.

I then came across an article in the newspaper about minimally invasive keyhole surgery to treat bunions and the feedback from patients was very positive. After much consideration I decided to pursue this treatment via the NHS and was informed that it was not routinely available, not available in Wales and referral would likely take years.

I decided to take matters into my own hands and after some extensive research, settled on Mr Gordon as the prime surgeon to sort my feet out. I contacted his secretary Helen, who was absolutely fantastic and I was booked in for a consultation within the week.

Mr Gordon was professional, friendly and sympathetic towards me and my awful feet and assured me that I was a good candidate for keyhole surgery. With the help of Helen, I was booked in for bilateral surgery with in a couple of weeks and had plenty of information of what was going to happen. The surgery was carried out at Spire Bushey and I was very impressed with the hospital and the care I was given by the surgical and nursing team. I went in for my operation at 9am and woke up a couple of hours later in no pain at all, just feeling groggy from the general anaesthetic. I spent most of the afternoon coming round and was looked after by a team of fabulous hospital staff whose care and attention was second to none. At about 4 pm in the afternoon, after a session with the physio, I was able to walk on crutches. Both feet were heavily bandaged and I was given a post surgery rehabilitation package, special sandals, crutches and an abundance of painkillers to start taking once the anaesthetic blocks wore off. I had a 4 hour journey home in the back of my parents car, wrapped in a duvet with my feet elevated as instructed and then I was fortunate enough to spend a week at my wonderful parents home being waited on hand and foot. I then returned home where I live alone. I was able to manage fine at home and followed the post operative instructions to the letter. Although a little tender when weight bearing, my feet were completely pain free from the moment the anaesthetic blocks wore off and I didn’t need to take the strong pain killers that I was prescribed.

I had the bandages off two weeks after the op and was really surprised at the amazing transformation of my feet and the minimal marks on my feet from the surgery. I took the full six weeks off work as I had a bilateral procedure and I felt that I wanted to give my feet the best post op recovery that I could. I was in trainers a month post op and able to walk normally at that point with no pain. I had all my normal range of mobility back at this point too.

When the first post op X-rays were taken, I was astonished at the size of the screws in my feet and to this day I still can’t believe they are in there! Progress after I went back to work has been rapid, I went on my first mountain bike ride 8 weeks post op and did my first intensity training session 12 weeks post op. From there, I went from strength to strength and now, six months post op, I am routinely running 5 miles at a time, going mountain biking 30 miles plus at a time and spending all day on my feet shopping with my mum. I plan to do the half Tough Mudder challenge in August! I have full mobility and flexibility in my feet and toes and can wear 4 inch heels with no problem at all. I now have no joint pain in my feet whatsoever where as preoperatively, my joints would ache severely after any form of exertion or wearing heeled footwear. I am no longer self conscious of my feet as they look normal and a whole new world of footwear has opened up to me as my feet are now a normal shape. I have noticed I walk with a better posture now and I no longer suffer hard skin on the side of my big toes or balls of my feet. The only evidence of my op is a couple of tiny scars on my feet and these are continuing to fade.

I can’t express how pleased I am with the outcome of my surgery and have to say it’s been a lot of money for me but worth every penny as it’s made such a difference to my life, health and well being. I would absolutely recommend Mr Gordon and his administrative team along with all the staff at Spire Bushey who were just fantastic. Last but not least, I express my great thanks and gratitude to my amazing parents as I couldn’t have done the travelling and recovery downtime without them.

Miss, R W, Wales, May 2017


My feet had troubled me for so many years that I had grown accustomed to making accommodations. Both feet had developed severe deformities, big toes slanting by +60 degrees with hammer toes on both second and third toes. The effect of this was painful joints, corns, ugly, hard calloused skin on tops of toes and balls of feet, and a complete inability to wear any style of shoe, even slip on ‘pump’ style shoes. I was limited to wearing either flat soled, wide fitting boots or (ghastly) ‘crocs’. It was physically impossible for me to wear a pair of flip-flops. I eventually realised that, in fact, I could no longer function, I could not wear a pair of shoes appropriate for a professional work environment, I literally could not walk in a pair of flats without my toes being ‘shredded’ and the corns causing excruciating pain. Needless to say high heels were out of the question. All my trainers and boots were quickly ruined with big unsightly bulges developing to accommodate my huge bunions.

Being unable to wear shoes also meant that I could never wear a dress or skirt (as I couldn’t wear with boots), so I could never enjoy ‘dressing-up’ for social or work occasions, or ever feel ‘feminine’. This was really embarrassing at times, it affected my confidence as I often felt ‘under-dressed’, unprofessional and consequently demoralised.

I eventually decided enough was enough, the tipping point was going for an interview and being unable to walk from the reception area to the lift in a pair of flat pump shoes without limping, despite having covered my toes in blister plasters.

I searched on google to find a private surgeon who specialised in key-hole bunion surgery. I was impressed with Mr Gordon’s website and the testimonials. When I met Mr Gordon at Harpenden Spire, I immediatly felt relief! I was confident that he would be able to help me. Mr Gordon took time and effort to listen to me, explain the procedure, understand what outcome I wanted and what was possible given my level of deformity (exacerbated by underlying hyper mobility).

Following my first consultation with Mr Gordon I booked the surgery. Mr Gordon’s executive assistant Helen was tremendously helpful and accommodating. I had to have two separate 2.5 hour operations and Helen managed to slot me in for my first surgery, just a couple of weeks after my initial consultation, at Spire Bushey, followed by my second surgery at Spire Harpenden 2 weeks later.

I can honestly say that the level of care at both Harpenden and Bushey was fabulous, the hospital facilities, the nursing staff, the food, absolutely everything was professional, attentive, relaxing and comforting.

The surgery was exactly as had been explained. The foot is numbed so when I woke from the general anaesthetic there was no pain at all. My first thought was literally elation … although bandaged my foot was obviously straight!!!!! Unbelievable!!! I was discharged the same day, the pain medication provided was effective and together with ice packs and elevation I had no issues at all with pain management. I could move about fairly freely using the surgical shoe and once confident I didn’t need crutches after day 2.

The post operative instructions were very clear, thorough and reasonable. I followed them easily and made sure I practiced them every day as per the requirements.

When the bandages came off Mr Gordon applied splints to bring the toes into the correct alignment. These were soft and comfortable.

8 weeks after the operation my feet were totally perfect and the pain was pretty much gone, I didn’t need to take any pain relief but made sure I continued with the post operative instructions for exercises, elevation and ice-packs. Not only were my feet straight but Mr Gordon had also removed all the unsightly hard skin / corns on my toes which have now healed and look lovely (no scarring). In addition, the persistent corn under my toe nail and the hard skin on the balls of my feet has disappeared! The skin is smooth and soft... naturally.

It is now 4 months since the first operation. I can honestly say it has changed my life. I feel blessed!! I am a normal person with normal feet and can wear normal shoes. I now have a full wardrobe of dresses, pretty shoes and of course matching handbags... I don’t just feel like a new woman, I am one!!!! I just can’t wait for summer and being able to wear flip-flops!!

I just cannot recommend this surgery highly enough. The minimally invasive, key-hole surgery which Mr Gordon practices with extraordinary skill is amazing. Without this procedure, and Mr Gordon’s expertise, the deformity I had would have been treated by fusing the joints of my big toes and I would not have had any movement. Instead I have full movement and minimal (practically no) scarring. My feet look so pretty!!

I commute to London and walk to work every day, I have no pain, only occasional swelling (as advised) after a long day but a paracetamol or ibuprofen is sufficient.

I just can’t honestly believe that in only 4 short months I have been completely cured of a really inhibiting disability. It feels like a miracle. This has changed my life in so many positive ways, mentally and physically … I am so thankful to Mr Gordon! Thank you!!!

Mrs C A, Berkhamsted Herts, May 2017


As I am quite an active lady who loves the outdoors my life was becoming unbearable.

I enjoy walking, but my main hobby is running, and I mean running, not jogging... there is a big difference!

Having quite a large lump on the side of my right big toe and numerous corns on my toes and the bottom of my foot, all my activities were becoming very unpleasant, even shopping was not enjoyable anymore!

The only footwear that I could wear comfortably were trainers and flat boots, no sandals or open toed shoes as I was embarrassed of the appearance of how my toes/foot looked, keeping it covered was the best option.

After many years of this, sometimes excruciating pain I had to seek help. After attending an evening discussion with Mr. Gordon at Spire Harpenden this prompted me to make the decision to go back and see Mr. Gordon about my painful feet. As it turns out, the best decision I have made in years!

Mr. Gordon agreed to perform a “revision right hallux correction (minimally invasive) procedure” on my right foot, I was a little apprehensive as this would be the third procedure on my right foot ( the first two NOT performed by Mr. Gordon).

My worries were unfounded as right from the start Mr. Gordon made me feel at ease with his understanding and concern.

The day of the procedure went very smoothly and I was home that evening. I was given exercises to do starting 3 days after the procedure which I did struggle with to start and seven weeks after my procedure I was referred to Spire Harpenden Physiotherapy, which really helped.

6 months later, I am now back running and walking and shopping with no pain and looking forward to buying a decent pair of sandals for the summer!

As I have already said the best decision I have made in years. I can’t thank Mr Gordon enough for agreeing to put right my toes/foot, this has transformed my life more than you could ever know. I now have a normal looking foot, the first time in years! Thank you so much.

Mrs L W, Hatfield Herts, May 2017


I had bunions on both feet for as long as I can remember, with the right one always more pronounced. I learnt to live with them and adjusted my shoes wardrobe to work around it – wide fit sections in any shop being my best friend! They weren’t too painful up until 3-4 years ago when I put on a bit of weight and subsequently lost it through exercise. I felt limited when doing activities such as running and cycling which frustrated me enough to start considering surgery. When I first looked into it (probably 3 years ago) I was terrified of the stories on the internet and gave up on the idea. But the pain and discomfort started to get worse and worse to the point where all I could wear were wide fit soft trainers. Being under 25 and working in technology with just one pair of comfortable shoes, dented my confidence and wardrobe choices. I wanted to increase my training and physical activities to a point where I could enter races, but my bunions were far too painful for any endurance sports. Summers were realllly horrible as the heat and the inability to wear pretty airy sandals meant I had 2 painful, hot and ugly feet and I finally plunged up the courage to look into surgery again.

I read about keyhole bunion surgery before and knew that would be my preferred choice given my age and lifestyle.

I saw my GP who referred me to a specialist but the consultation and the suggested treatment didn’t go great so I gave up on it again.

As the pain was not giving up, I did some research into surgeons who do the minimally invasive hallux valgus surgery and came across Mr. David Gordon’s website. I read the documentation on his website, as well as the patient testimonials and contacted his PA - Helen, who has been really helpful throughout.

She provided me with the information I needed and before I knew it, I had my first appointment. Mr David was brilliant, he examined my feet and as I had hoped, suggested keyhole surgery on both feet at the same time. He explained every detail carefully to me and I felt comfortable and trustful of his abilities.

I had my surgery on the 25th of January this year, and I am now (fully-ish) recovered, able to do all types of activities, as well as wear normal shoes – even heels!

The surgery was done under GA and I woke up feeling refreshed and bouncy – weird I know! I was on my feet straight away, using the special shoes. I followed Mr. David’s instructions post surgery religiously and my recovery has been swift.

I didn’t experience much pain, just mild pangs every now and then but I did not need painkillers. I used ice to reduce swelling when needed and elevated my feet as much as possible in the first few months.

As I look at my perfect cute feet each morning – I do wish I did this sooner! I am so very pleased with the results and feel lucky to have come across Mr David Gordon.

I can’t thank Mr David and Helen enough for the help and care they provided, I highly recommend seeing Mr. David for any bunion related issues!

Miss C B, Romford Essex, May 2017


I had been toying with bunion surgery for a while – both my mother and grandmother suffered from severe bunions and subsequent deformity on both feet during their lives… and I had come to the point where any type of fashionable shoe became uncomfortable and more often than not totally unbearable after any length of time wearing it! I had increased my shoe size to accommodate the bunion (which did help a little) but I still found that there was discomfort/swelling/redness to my left foot and decided that at 43 I was too young to spend the rest of my life in pain and in flat shoes!!

As such I did some ‘google’ research into the options available for bunion surgery in hope of finding a relatively quick solution as I had always heard dreadful stories about the pain of bunion surgery and the extended recovery period post-surgery. I soon came across David’s website and was amazed to see the video of the minimally invasive surgery. I knew instantly this was the option that best suited me. I also felt some relief knowing that surgery need not mean months off work after all! So without hesitation, I asked my GP for a referral.
David was extremely personable when I met him, he explained everything about the procedure in detail and gave me reassurance that I was in safe hands. Since my procedure and during my recovery David has been very caring and utterly professional… it is evident that he is passionate about his work and that the wellbeing of his patient is paramount. As someone who has worked in a clinical environment for a number of years amongst GPs/surgeons/consultants etc, I can honestly say that meeting David has made refreshing change – despite his experience, qualifications and expertise in his field he is someone who Is totally ‘down to earth’ being both capable and comfortable with communicating with his patients ‘on a level’…. and for this I have the utmost respect for him. It is an added bonus that I am now the proud owner of a lovely straight left foot and am very much looking forward to wearing my heels again!

I couldn’t sign off this testimonial without also giving a mention to Helen, David”s PA, who is very pleasant on the phone, helpful and accommodating.

I wish David every success for the future in what I firmly believe will be a highly rewarding and distinguished career.

Mrs A J Clarke, Lancashire, Oct 2016


I have had flat feet from birth, American. Starting in my early teens, I became very active in sports. My main limitation was being unable to run and finding the right trainers. As I moved into my twenties and thirties, my interest in exercise increased and I became certified in several group fitness programs, focusing mainly on spinning/indoor cycling. In my early forties, when I was based in Philadelphia I went to an orthopaedic surgeon, though not having huge issues with foot discomfort, he urged me to have them corrected. There were bunions developing on both feet. As I moved into my fifties, the discomfort increased (calluses and bunions) and it became increasing difficult to find comfortable shoes, mainly dress shoes. Over the last two years the discomfort increased considerably until I finally decided to see an orthopaedic surgeon (have been based in London for many years). I narrowed my search to Mr David Gordon.

I had my treatment for both feet, minimally invasive, last year on December 1st, 2015. I was very anxious leading up to the day, though have to say Mr Gordon (and his assistant Helen) were both brilliant setting my fears aside. I was also concerned it would significantly impact my exercise program and the 5 classes I teach. The surgery was intense, though I was treated excellently. Mr Gordon was very clear as to what I could/couldn’t do for the next few weeks, plus his website was extremely helpful. It’s now January 11th, 2016. I am off crutches and surgical boots. While the feet are still swollen, they look completely different, and bunions completely gone. Last week Mr Gordon showed me my x-rays, before and after. I was totally amazed. The bone structure completely changed (with the pins perfectly in place). While I still have a way to go, I am back wearing trainers and dress shoes, with little to no discomfort (any discomfort primarily due to the swelling).

I am so happy I have had this done, for too long I was living/walking with pain that could be corrected. I do regret not having it done earlier, ie in Philadelphia, but thankful that I selected Mr Gordon in London to make the correction.

On a final note, everyone at The London Clinic was amazing and treated me so well, all levels of service.

Mr T G, London, January 2016


I have been lucky enough to see Mr Gordon in relation to two separate conditions; a foot fracture and minimally invasive bunion surgery.

He immediately makes you feel at ease at the initial consultation and discusses treatment options in easy to understand terms. He also makes you feel as though you are his only patient when in reality there is a queue of people in the waiting area.

As a patient you want a Dr and surgeon who you trust, is very skilled at their craft and makes you feel calm and relaxed. Mr Gordon ticks all of these boxes and is clearly very passionate about his work.

He is supported by Helen Sellers his P.A, who is very professional and nothing is too much trouble to organise.

I would not hesitate to see him again in future and would recommend his expertise to others.

Miss V W, Carshalton, Surrey, November 2015


Having suffered from bunions on both feet since my teens, I finally summoned up the courage to do something about them at the age of 55! They were becoming more and more painful (and ugly) and I was beginning to get back ache from not walking correctly. After some research, I felt minimally invasive keyhole surgery was the way forward and, due to his particular interest in this type of procedure, Mr Gordon was recommended by my physiotherapist.

I really should have taken the plunge years ago instead of putting up with my painful and embarrassing bunions. I am now 6 months post-op and my feet look wonderful with their lovely straight big toes. The scars are fading and most of the swelling has gone down. I have good movement and am back to walking and exercising. The rehabilitation exercises are comprehensive – but crucial to follow in order to get a good recovery and outcome. I am not going to say all this was pain free – particularly in the first couple of months – but it has definitely been worth it.Shoe shops will no longer be places to dread!

I am delighted with the results of Mr Gordon’s expertise and with all the care I have received over the past 6 months. His calm and confident manner immediately puts you at ease – even when he says it would be better to have both feet done at the same time!! His sense of humour also helps! Everything to do with the procedure was explained in a straightforward and reassuring way and I immediately felt I was in good hands. So for anyone contemplating bunion surgery, I cannot recommend Mr Gordon highly enough.

Mrs J.P., Welwyn Garden City November 2015


I’m a 30 year old Aussie living in Vienna who just had hallux surgery in Austria (performed using scarf method) and despite having paid a high premium for private services, I feel the doctor [not Mr Gordon] has totally disregarded the need for proper after care instructions.

I just want to say thank you Mr Gordon, for the wonderful PDF guide on your website which is the most descriptive, easy-to- follow guide that I have found online. I can’t express enough how grateful I am to have access to this – the surgeons here [in Austria] do so many procedures that one hallux op seems to mean nothing to them. I still have one foot to go, so maybe I’ll come to London!

Ms R D, Vienna, November 2015


I had a painful bunion on my right foot, I thought about surgery but was a bit scared about the whole shaving of the bone idea! After putting it off for a while eventually I plucked up the courage to investigate further.

I had health cover through work and found Mr Gordon, he was my first choice as he doesn’t shave the bone but performs minimal invasive surgery. how he performed the surgery sounded a lot more appealing!

I had great consultations before surgery which put my mind at ease as I was very nervous for the surgery itself. I had great support from the nurses on the day of the surgery & even though I was worrying about going under for the surgery I was reassured by everyone including Mr Gordon that all will be fine.

Post surgery I did have some pain but after a few days that went & I got to work on exercising my foot by following the post op care guide which is needed to start getting movement back in the foot. All went well and I did have swelling for a few months but was again reassured that it was normal.

6 months on & all is good, I no longer have pain in my foot, the swelling has gone down & my scars are pretty much non existent, fabulous!

Everyone I dealt with was fantastic, Mr Gordons surgery was amazing & if the bunion on my left foot starts to cause pain I know I can come back & will have nothing to worry about, all I can expect it great results & great care. Thank you.

Miss F S, Watford, Hertfordshire. Minimally Invasive Bunion Surgery, October 2015


Before my operation I would get pain in my feet if I was to walk a long distance and running was also painful. I found it difficult to sleep on my sides because of the pressure from my bed on the sides of my feet. Mr Gordon was very kind, he explained the whole procedure to me making sure I was happy with everything. On the day of my operation I was very scared but Mr Gordon came to see me before hand and helped by putting my worries at ease. I’m very happy with the final outcome of the operation, I love my feet now and enjoy walking and running.

Mr M D, Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire Minimally Invasive Bunion Surgery, October 2015


After complaining about pain in my foot,due to arthritis in the toe & bunions, for a number of years & finding it harder to find any nice shoes that fitted, I finally decided to do something about it. The result has been great! Minimally invasive surgery has meant I was back out running & my foot pain free in a few months. Those shoes relegated to the bottom of the wardrobe can now see the light again.

Mrs S B, Dunstable, Bedfordshire, Minimally Invasive Bunion Surgery, March 2015


During my 40’s my bunion started to interfere with sports and I found it increasingly difficult to find shoes to fit.I had my surgery with Mr Gordon on 3rd November and was back on the tennis court by the end of December! Today 3/4 months post surgery I am delighted. I have no pain, no swelling and am able to wear all types of shoes including high heels! I recommend Mr Gordon and minimally invasive key hole surgery to anyone thinking about having a bunion corrected. You will be delighted.

Mr G E, St Albans, Hertfordshire, Minimally Invasive Bunion Surgery, March 2015


Having thought and talked about surgical correction of a bunion for some time, I finally went ahead with the operation. Two months later I have minimal swelling, a lovely straight toe and I am walking and exercising normally, (having religiously followed the recuperation advice from Mr Gordon). I have no hesitation in recommending the surgical procedure nor Mr Gordon, a very skilled and professional surgeon.

Mrs S E, Hertford, Hertfordshire, Minimally Invasive bunion surgery, February 2015

Click on the links below for more information


On 11th November 2014, I arrived at the Spire hospital in Harpenden to have my bunion (Hallux Valgus) surgery.

From the moment I arrived to the moment I left I felt safe and that I was in good hands. Mr Gordon has a calm, confident and reassuring bedside manner. His team were equally professional and I felt relaxed and well cared for throughout the procedure.

I cannot remember a time when I did not having bunions but they had never stopped me from living a very active and normal family life. That is until 2013, when I began to find some activities were becoming harder and more uncomfortable – such as yoga, running and wearing shoes with higher heals – and even sleeping.

At first, I adjusted my life to suit my bunions. I stopped weight bearing on my big toes and always slept with my feet outside of the duvet – to avoid the weight of the bedclothes pressing on my bunions. My bunions had become very red and sore – on holiday I hid my feet in the sand because they looked so tender and I didn’t want to draw people’s attention to them. Everywhere I looked I saw other people’s perfect feet. But it was pain rather than vanity that drove me to see my GP who then referred me to Mr Gordon.

I had both bunions removed at the same time. I remember waking up after the surgery and looking down the bed at my straight toes – I felt so happy!

I left hospital on the day of the operation. I experienced discomfort rather than pain in the following days. This was entirely manageable with the prescribed pain-killers. Mr Gordon gave me clear instructions about post-operative care, rest and exercise. I followed these to the letter. I found that the hardest part about the recovery period was staying in bed for two weeks with my feet elevated – this sounds much easier to do than it proved to be.

It is now twelve weeks since my operation and I am delighted with the results.
I still find it hard to believe that the feet I see are actually mine – every morning I look at them and I get a little thrill. And best of all, the pain and soreness I endured for so many years is gone.

I have started exercising again and I can now enjoy walking the dog – pain free. My only regret is that I didn’t have this surgery, years ago.

I felt completely confident and relaxed in in Mr Gordon’s care and I would thoroughly recommend him without hesitation to anyone contemplating bunion surgery.

Mrs J R, St Albans, Hertfordshire February 2015


Last September I had an operation on my left foot which has healed beautifully and I am very pleased with the before and after care.

I am now looking forward to having my right foot operated on in the near future to be able to go on long walks etc.

Mrs V S, Bedfordshire January 2015


I would like to take this opportunity to thank Mr Gordon for the exemplary treatment carried out on my left and right bunions.

As a keen runner I was finding exercise becoming more and more difficult particularly in my left toe joint, bunion guards failed to alleviate rubbing and pain.

My G.P. referred me to Luton and Dunstable Hospital, where the consultation with Mr. Gordon explored non surgical procedures but we decided surgery to be the only answer details of which were thoroughly explained. Between us it was decided that operating on both feet at the same time was the best solution in my case, it made perfect sense as recovery time would be approximately 3 months for both feet or 2 x 3 if operated on separately.

Surgery was scheduled for early October at the Luton and Dunstable, where I found all staff to be excellent. I was discharged the same day feet heavily bandaged and in surgical boots with clear and concise post operative rehabilitation protocol, which I followed religiously and believe it aided my timely recovery, pain and swelling was minimal.

Within 4 weeks I returned to yoga and non weight bearing cardio exercise. Mid January I was back in running shoes building kilometres incrementally and am now back to my normal running regime.

Regular outpatient visits confirmed all was going well.

I would highly recommend Mr. Gordon whom I consider an excellent surgeon with great people skills and wish him much continued success.

Mrs L C, St Albans, Hertfordshire Bunion Surgery March 2014


I looked into having this surgery for a second time when my foot became terribly sore in shoes, I knew I had to have something done. The first time I decided against it as the post op period was going to be difficult, but when a couple of years on, the pain was worse, and the bunion and distorted toes even more uncomfortable, I thought I had better re-think. I was fortunate enough to find and meet David Gordon. From the first appointment he instilled a calm and uba professional approach to the whole proceedings. He explained clearly the procedure, and exactly what he needed to do and exactly what I should expect afterwards. I had no hesitation in agreeing to proceed this time around, he made me feel I was in a very safe pair of hands.

And I was!! It’s now 6 weeks after the operation, the pin which had to remain in one of my toes has been taken out (and it didn’t hurt one little bit!!). The scars on my foot can hardly be seen already and I am at last free to exercise, drive and even in a little while wear the Jimmy Choos’ for my company Christmas party this year!

I cannot recommend David Gordon enough – he has a great bedside manner which when you are nervous is worth it’s weight in gold. He made me feel cared for and well looked after. The op went well but he wasn’t happy about the circulation in one of the toes – so much so that he personally sent me a text the day after the op and asked if I would mind popping back to the hospital to see him as he wanted peace of mind that everything was on track. He needn’t have worried, it was all healing nicely, but the fact is, it was on his mind and he couldn’t forget about it until he knew for sure all was well. Now that to me is a man behind the consultant who actually cares about what he does and always wants to get it right for his patients. A really winning combination and I would highly recommend him to anyone who needed any of the surgeries he specialises in.

They do say behind every man is a good woman – this scenario is no exception. Helen Sellars is Mr Gordon’s PA and she is fantastic. I e mailed her countless times with questions and she always responded immediately and helped me through it all tremendously. She was a brilliant support for Mr Gordon, but also for me – a superstar, and very efficient.

Everyone knows that no surgery should be undertaken without a full awareness of what and why your having an op performed, but once you have made the decision to proceed, I would urge you to contact Helen, arrange to meet Mr Gordon and put yourself in his very capable hands. You won’t regret it. Absolutely sound guy, great support and brilliant at what he does.

Mrs L O, Hillingdon, Uxbridge Bunion Surgery October 2013


Mr. Gordon spent time in explaining in fine detail the procedure and risks involved in operating and gave me time to decide whether to go ahead or not.

On the second consultation in July 2013 I decided to have the operation, which was arranged and carried out on 30 August 2013. I went home with both feet in bandages and surgical shoes and was able to put my feet to the ground and walk, although I did have to follow “Post Operative Rehabilitation Protocol” and strictly elevate my feet as much as possible. This I found extremely helpful. Throughout the procedure my general welfare was adequately monitored and assisted.

I was very pleased that the operation went successfully and once the swelling has settled I will be in normal shoes again.

May I take this opportunity to thank Mr. Gordon and his team for their outstanding professionalism throughout and for all the first class care they have given me in Luton & Dunstable Hospital and to highly recommend Mr. Gordon to any persons considering similar treatment.

Mrs FS Bunion Surgery August 2013

 


I was lucky enough to be referred to Mr Gordon on the NHS at the Luton and Dunstable hospital re my painful bunion which were rubbing on even the softest shoes and stopping me walking far.

Despite Mr Gordon’s youthful appearance it was clear from the outset he was an expert in his field. He has a superb manner which makes him approachable and one feel that no question or concern is too trivial and yet promotes confidence and authority.

I researched his credentials ,as is my way, and was thrilled to see how qualified he is, although it his his manner that sets him apart.

On the day of my operation which was originally just for my bunion I pointed out my hammer toe and Mr Gordon agreed to sort that too- common sense and saving the nhs time with another referral/ operation time at a later date. My operation went smoothly and recovery was exactly as Mr Gordon said.

Seeing one of his team at out patients after the operation made me realise how comfortable Mr Gordon makes one feel as despite their obvious knowledge, their bedside manner was much more officious and felt very impersonal. Mr Gordon came in at the end and pointed out what should have been done- if everyone mirrored his approach the NHS would be in a far better place, in my opinion.

I have good flexibility in my big toe, neat scarring and no pain!

Following problems with foot surgery carried out elsewhere my mother sought a referral to Mr Gordon who made her confident that her foot could be fixed despite her previous difficult experience. No mean feat. He was completely sympathetic regarding her fears and never impatient.

I do not hesitate to recommend Mr Gordon. I shall certainly track him down when my other foot’s bunion develops!

Leighton buzzard Bunion surgery June 2013

Click on the links below for more information